Located at 900 N. Stiles, the Oklahoma Department of Commerce is housed in the former Maywood Presbyterian Church. The building was constructed in 1906 in a yet-to-be-developed residential neighborhood. Today the building is situated in the Oklahoma State Capitol complex, University of Oklahoma Medical Center and the Presbyterian Health Foundation. The historic building is a testament to Oklahoma’s past and vibrant future.
Constructed in the same year as Oklahoma’s statehood, the Maywood Presbyterian church was designed by architect William N. Meredith in a Romanesque ecclesiastical style. Featuring elements of Gothic Revival, the church seated 1,000 in the main auditorium and balcony. The basement contained a gymnasium, restrooms and kitchen. The structure was sold twice, in 1946 and 1956, before being abandoned in 1980. As one of Oklahoma City’s first suburban churches, the exterior remnants were declared eligible for the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.
In 1987 HTB Architects announced plans to redevelop the building into the organization’s office complex.
The completed space is nearly six times larger than the original structure. It raises three stories and features a sky-lit atrium which is surrounded by rough plaster, untreated brickwork and glassless windows of the original building. Two complete stained art glass windows are preserved on the north side of the building and listed as a part of the historic designation. The third floor gallery hosts a unique ceiling that was painted by the internationally acclaimed muralist Robert Dafford.
The Oklahoma Department of Commerce has been headquartered in the building since 1996.