Accelerate the success and development of your start-up by enlisting the help of a small business incubator. Incubators provide entrepreneurs with an array of targeted resources, services and professional advice.
The Oklahoma Small Business Incubators Incentives Act enables the tenants of a certified incubator facility to be exempt from state tax liability on income earned as a result of occupancy for up to five years. In 2001, the Legislature amended the act to extend the tenant’s tax exemption from five to 10 years. When they qualify, the exemption remains in effect after the tenant is no longer an incubator occupant. In addition, the act enables the sponsor of a certified incubator facility to be exempt from Oklahoma income taxes for a period of 10 years.
Find an Incubator
Small business incubators are located throughout the state. To find a business incubator, download our List of Certified Incubators.
The role of the Department of Commerce in the incubator process is to certify the incubators and to assure the incubators meet certain standards of excellence. To certify your business incubator contact Rana Steeds at firstname.lastname@example.org or 405-815-5143.
How to Start a Business
Four basic steps to start your business in Oklahoma and our in-depth Start-up Guide.
Business Advice & Financing
In-depth training and assistance with things like writing a business plan, getting financing and HR practices are available to entrepreneurs and small businesses.
There is no general license required to start or own a business, but some businesses and occupations may require licenses, permits, or registrations.
Women & Minority Business Certifications
Certification programs may benefit businesses that have traditionally faced extra barriers to market entry or participation.